x
home
who i am
my clients
what i do
what they say
07973 302332
simon@mc-whirter.co.uk
who

I’m a multi-disciplinary communicator and advocate, with very strong academic and professional backgrounds.

Professionally, I have fifteen year's experience spanning international business, journalism and environmental campaigning and this is bolstered by a robust academic background including Masters degrees in Jurisprudence from Oxford University and International Economic and Business Law from Kyushu University in Japan.



Business
I worked in international tax consultancy for some of the biggest names in business - Arthur Andersen and KPMG – in a variety of loci, from London-New York-Sydney, with a particular focus on relationship management and brokering.



Writing
Covering a multiplicity of media, I have written for and contributed to a host of papers, periodicals and publications; as a tabloid newspaper reporter for the Daily Star, the Daily Express and The Sun, to Geographical magazine and various environmental and wider interest books (including a biography of Ant and Dec!).



Environmental campaign management
Until my recent departure to set up my own business, at WWF I held senior roles in Public Affairs and Campaigns for over five years. I ran the campaigns work on sustainable housing and sat as an advisor and advocate on various government and industry task forces - from the 2016 Zero Carbon Task Force, to BRE's Sustainablity Board and the Existing Homes Alliance. Working on the One Planet Living campaign, I delivered large scale events and managed all aspects of strategy development as well as campaign product delivery, in the form of books and award-winning film production.



Property developer
Half of my week is now spent working for Kevin McCloud's property development company - Hab. I'm Project Director there, responsible for all aspects of the process from land purchase, through consultation and planning to construction, completion and working with the new residents beyond that date. Nose to tail development.

For London meetings I use the Royal Society of Arts, where I’m a Fellow, but the lion’s share of my work is from home where I’m to be found happily ensconced in my own low impact self-build on the Gower Peninsula, south Wales, with my wife, Bec, kids Ned and Kitty and mutt Fred.








who I am